2019 Ballon D’or Results: Messi Wins Record 6th, Rapinoe Wins Her First

Posted By High Press 10 on December 2, 2019

Lionel Messi won his record-setting sixth Ballon D’or today.

Megan Rapinoe won her first.

The win puts Messi one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo all time. It also puts Barcelona players first all time among clubs with 12. Real Madrid players have 11.

This is only the second time a female Ballon D’or has been awarded. Ada Hegerberg of Norway / Lyon won it last year.

Claim Your $520 At DraftKings DFS
$520 Bonus
Total Bonus Offer
  • $20 Free Play On First Deposit
  • Plus 20% deposit match up to $500
  • #1 in Daily Fantasy Sports.

Ballon D’or Results

Men’s Ballon D’or

  1. Lionel Messi
  2. Virgil van Dijk
  3. Cristiano Ronaldo
  4. Sadio Mane
  5. Mo Salah
  6. Kylian Mbappe
  7. Alisson Becker
  8. Robert Lewandowski
  9. Bernardo Silva
  10. Riyad Mahrez

Female Ballon D’or

  1. Megan Rapinoe
  2. Lucy Bronze
  3. Alex Morgan

Liverpool players dominate top 10

While Virgil van Dijk just missed becoming the first defender since 2006 to claim the award, he was well represented by fellow Reds in the top 10.

Liverpool players occupied 40% of the final 10 and over half of the final 7. Sadio Mane (4), Mo Salah (5), and Alisson Becker (7) joined VVD atop the list.

Other Liverpool players represented well in the top 30. Georginio Wijnaldum (26), Trent Alexander-Arnold (19), and Roberto Firmino (17) were on the finalist short-list.

Alisson also took home top goalkeeper honors.

High Press 10 Avatar
Written by
High Press 10

High Press 10 covers general global soccer stories and news. He / she finds the quality of soccer in Bend It Like Beckham to be on par with u8 rec.

View all posts by High Press 10
Privacy Policy