FIFA Club World Cup: What You Need to Know and Where to Watch in the US

Written By Peter Taberner on December 11, 2019 - Last Updated on December 17, 2019

FIFA’s Club World Cup is set to begin in Qatar. Seven teams prepare to battle it out to be crowned club champions of the world.

The tournament begins on December 11th, with the final being played ten days later.

It’s the first time that it will be held in the Gulf state. Who wins the event is expected to be rewarded with around $5 million.

Qatar as the host nation will be represented by Al Sadd Sports Club, managed by former Barcelona and Spain legend Xavi.

The final will be played on December 21st at the Khalifa International Stadium.

Who is participating in the FIFA Club World Cup?

The seven teams participating include:

  • Espérance Sportive de Tunis (Africa)
  • Al Sadd Sports Club (host)
  • Al Hilal (Asia)
  • Liverpool (UEFA)
  • Monterrey (CONCACAF)
  • Hienghene Sport (Oceania)
  • Flemengo (South America)

The FIFA Club World Cup match line-up

Al Sadd Sports Club will start the tournament on December 11th, facing Hienghene Sport in a first round match. The winner of that tie is then drawn to face Monterrey in the second round of the competition.

A semi-final clash with Flamengo then awaits the victor of that game.

Al Hilal against Esperance Sportive De Tunis complete the second round line up. Liverpool will be the next opponents for the winner of that match in the other semi-final.

Where to watch in the US

The FIFA Club World Cup will be broadcast on FS2 in the US.

FIFA Club World Cup Odds

Al Hilal+2500
Al Sadd+3300
Esperance de Tunis+5000

Club World Cup Now in 19th Year

FIFA’s Club World Cup has now been in existence since the year 2000. It was first proposed by FIFA as far back as 1993.

Yet after it was played for the first time, there was a five year hiatus before it was organised again for varying reasons.

Real Madrid have been the most successful team in the competition since its inception with four victories. That total edges them clear of rivals Barcelona’s three victories. This includes a hat trick of wins between 2016 and 2018, matching Los Blancos’ success in the Champions League.

Yet this competition evolved and expanded from the Intercontinental Cup, where the winners of the European Cup and the Libertadores would meet annually over two legs. It was first played in 1960 where Real Madrid won it with a 5-1 aggregate win over Uruguayans Penarol.

During the seventies, the play-off became derailed ,due to many European teams refusing to participate as the decade wore on.

Fewer than 5,000 fans turned up to see Malmo, who stepped in for Nottingham Forest in 1979, to play their first leg game against Olimpia Asuncion. The Intercontinental Cup was on the verge of collapse, but then Japan motor giants Toyota said it would sponsor a one match play off in Tokyo. Contracts were signed by those participating in the European Cup that they would compete in Japan, and stop the tide of teams refusing to play.

Uruguayans Nacional were the first winners of the one game version with a 1-0 win over Nottingham Forest. Porto were the last holders in 2004, as they beat Colombians Once Caldes 8-7 on penalties after a goalless draw.

Peter Taberner Avatar
Written by
Peter Taberner

View all posts by Peter Taberner
Privacy Policy