Premier League Betting 21/22: Chelsea vs Liverpool Betting Preview

Written By Alex Blowers on January 1, 2022

2022’s first Premier League marquee fixture takes place on Sunday between Chelsea and Liverpool. The festive fixture schedule and Covid have taken their toll, allowing Manchester City to open up an eight-point lead at the top of the table, and both need a win here to keep their title hopes alive.

The build-up to this match has been overshadowed by Romelu Lukaku‘s recent interview with Sky Italy. It took place three weeks ago, and Chelsea were completely unaware of its existence. Thomas Tuchel responded to multiple questions about Lukaku’s comments in his pre-match press conference and tried his best to remain calm about the situation, saying:

“We don’t like it, it brings noise we don’t need, we don’t want to make more out of it than it is, maybe it’s not what he meant, but I will tell you, I do not like it.”

When asked about disciplinary action, “We’ll discuss it behind closed doors.”

The game is scheduled to kick off Sunday at 11:30 AM EST and will be shown live on USA and Telemundo from Anfield.

You can always hit me up on Twitter @AlexJBlowers for advice, your picks, and thoughts on what’s happening in the world of soccer.

Please check out the High Press Pod when you get a chance. We would greatly appreciate it if you hit the subscribe button and gave us a 5-star rating.

PREMIER LEAGUE GUIDES

How To Bet The Premier League In The US

How To Stream The Premier League In The US

Premier League Best and Worse Kits

CHELSEA VS LIVERPOOL PREMIER LEAGUE BETTING ODDS

Premier League Betting: Chelsea vs Liverpool Betting Preview

CHELSEA

CompetitionOpponentHome/AwayGoals ForGoals AgainstTotal GoalsxG ForxG AgainstTotal xGxG Difference
Premier LeagueEvertonHome1122.70.43.1+2.3
Premier LeagueWolvesAway0000.80.31.1+0.5
Carabao CupBrentfordAway202N/AN/AN/AN/A
Premier LeagueAston VillaAway3142.90.63.5+2.3
Premier LeagueBrightonHome1121.10.92.0+0.2
Total / Average Per Game7 / 1.43 / 0.610 / 27.5 / 1.872.2 / 0.559.7 / 2.42+5.3 / +1.32

Stats taken from FBREF

Premier League Betting: Chelsea vs Liverpool Betting Preview

Out: Ben Chilwell (ACL), Reece James (Thigh), Andreas Christensen (Back)
Doubtful: Timo Werner (Covid), Lewis Baker (Covid), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Ankle), Thiago Silva (Hamstring)
Suspended: None
Coach: Thomas Tuchel

The biggest question is whether Lukaku stays or not? I think Tuchel will due to his comment, “it brings noise we don’t need.” Benching Lukaku will add more fuel to the fire and dominate the post-match press conference, whatever the result. Chelsea needs to focus on getting their season back on track and put this incident behind them.

Tuchel also has defensive issues to deal with. Reece James, Ben Chilwell, and Andreas Christensen are unavailable, and Thiago Silva remains a doubt. We could see Calum Hudson-Odoi, Christian Pulišić, or Malang Sarr start at right wing-back.

Timo Werner has returned to first-team training and could have an impact from the bench. Kai Havertz has recovered from Covid and will make his first appearance since December 11th.

In central midfield, it will be Jorginho and N’Golo Kanté. With Chelsea’s growing injury list, we could see Tuchel switch to a 3-5-2 and add Mateo Kovačić to make a midfield three.

After this game, we will see Kepa between the sticks, with Edouard Mendy representing Senegal at the African Cup of Nations.

LIVERPOOL

CompetitionOpponentHome/AwayGoals ForGoals AgainstTotal GoalsxG ForxG AgainstTotal xGxG Difference
Premier LeagueAston VillaHome1012.50.32.8+2.2
Premier LeagueNewcastleHome3142.30.32.6+2.0
Premier LeagueTottenhamHome2241.53.44.9-1.9
Carabao CupLeicester CityHome336N/AN/AN/AN/A
Premier LeagueLeicester CityAway0132.60.63.2+2.0
Total / Average Per Game9 / 1.87 / 1.416 / 3.28.9 / 2.224.6 / 1.1513.5 / 3.37+4.3 / +1.07

Stats taken from FBREF

Premier League Betting: Chelsea vs Liverpool Betting Preview

Out: Harvey Elliot (Ankle), Nathanial Phillips (Fractured Cheekbone), Divock Origi (Knee), Adrián (Calf), Thiago Alcântara (Hip), Takumi Minamino (Muscle Soreness)
Doubtful: None
Suspended: Andrew Robertson
Coach: Jürgen Klopp

Liverpool have been hit by Covid again with three new players and several staff members testing positive. Jürgen Klopp didn’t reveal the identity of the players in his press conference but said, “You will see on the team sheet, it’s pretty clear.”

Expect to see some changes to my predicted lineup and the side who lost 1-0 to Leicester City midweek. Thiago Alcântara and Takumi Minamino will miss out due to injury.

Konstantinos Tsikimas should continue at left-back for the suspended Andrew Robertson, who is serving the final game of his three-match suspension.

This will be Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mané, and Naby Keïta‘s final game before jetting off to the Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon. If their respective national sides fail to make it past the group stage, they’ll only miss two Premier League games.

CHELSEA VS LIVERPOOL PREMIER LEAGUE BETTING TIPS

Not knowing who the three Liverpool players are that tested positive for Covid makes this game difficult to call. If it’s Fabinho, Jordan Henderson, and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, can a midfield of James Milner, Naby Keïta, and Curtis Jones compete with Kanté,  Jorginho, Mount, and Havertz? Chelsea are also facing defensive issues and dealing with the fallout of Lukaku’s controversial comments.

The one constant we’ve had throughout the packed festive fixture schedule is chaos, and that’s what I’m backing in this match. An end-to-end thriller with goals and both sides getting on the scoresheet.

PREMIER LEAGUE BETTING TIPS: Parlay Both Teams To Score YES and Over 2.5 Goals -105

WHERE TO BET PREMIER LEAGUE IN THE US

In the US, you can legally bet on soccer in more than two dozen states. You can bet online in some states, but only in-person betting is allowed in most of them.

DraftKings Sportsbook is available in Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

FanDuel Sportsbook is available in Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Alex Blowers Avatar
Written by
Alex Blowers

Betting advice for the Premier League, Bundesliga & UEFA Champions League! Alex also contributes to NBC Sports Edge and TheLines. You can follow him on Twitter @AlexJBlowers

View all posts by Alex Blowers
Privacy Policy