Premier League Betting 21/22: Manchester United vs Arsenal Betting Preview

Written By Alex Blowers on December 1, 2021

Manchester United have dominated the headlines in recent weeks, and Matchday 14’s marquee Premier League fixture sees them taking on Arsenal. United confirmed Ralf Rangnick‘s appointment Monday morning, and everyone’s intrigued to see what he can do with this talented squad.

Mikel Arteta’s side will provide a stern test and be desperate to win this game. A win for Arsenal could take them into the Top 4, depending on how West Ham gets on against Brighton. The Gunners last played in the competition in 2016/17, and the fans would love to have UEFA Champions League football back at The Emirates.

The game is scheduled to kick off Thursday at 3:15PM EST and will be shown live on Peacock.

You can always hit me up on Twitter @AlexJBlowers for advice, your picks, and thoughts on what’s happening in the world of soccer. Please check out the High Press Pod when you get a chance. We would greatly appreciate it if you hit the subscribe button and gave us a 5-star rating.

PREMIER LEAGUE GUIDES

How To Bet The Premier League In The US

How To Stream The Premier League In The US

Premier League Best and Worse Kits

MANCHESTER UNITED VS ARSENAL PREMIER LEAGUE BETTING ODDS

Premier League Betting: Manchester United vs Arsenal Betting Preview

MANCHESTER UNITED

CompetitionOpponentHome/AwayGoals ForGoals AgainstTotal GoalsxG ForxG AgainstTotal xGxG Difference
UEFA Champions LeagueAtalantaAway2241.31.12.4+0.2
Premier LeagueManchester CityHome0220.62.02.6-1.4
Premier LeagueWatfordAway1451.62.23.8-0.6
UEFA Champions LeagueVillarrealAway2021.40.82.2+0.6
Premier LeagueChelseaAway1120.72.93.6-2.2
Total / Average6 / 1.29 / 1.815 / 35.6 / 1.129 / 1.814.6 / 2.92-3.4 / -0.68

Stats taken from FBREF

Premier League Betting: Manchester United vs Arsenal Betting Preview

Out: Paul Pogba (Thigh), Raphael Varane (Hamstring), Edinson Cavani (Tendon)
Doubtful: Luke Shaw (Concussion)
Suspended: None
Coach: Ralf Rangnick

I don’t know how Rangnick will set United up for this game. On the one hand, he prefers working with young players who are willing to run themselves into the ground and are moldable. On the other, he’s a very experienced manager who I don’t think is naive enough to cause a media storm in his first game by dropping Cristiano Ronaldo.

With that in mind, I think they’ll set up in a 4-2-3-1 formation with CR7 leading the line. Rangnick will know Jadon Sancho from his time at Borussia Dortmund, and I think he’s a guarantee to start on the right alongside Bruno Fernandes and Marcus Rashford.

Fred and Scott McTominay are United’s two most mobile central midfielders, and Rangnick will love their energy. Harry Maguire is back from suspension and will partner Victor Lindelöf in central defense with Eric Bailly dropping to the bench. On Sunday, Michael Carrick revealed Luke Shaw ‘wasn’t quite right’ to play against Chelsea. He remains a doubt for this game, but I think he will be ready to play.

It will be interesting to see what effect United’s new manager has on Aaron Wan-Bissaka. The 24-year-old has stagnated in recent months and could really develop his attacking game under Rangnick.

ARSENAL

CompetitionOpponentHome/AwayGoals ForGoals AgainstTotal GoalsxG ForxG AgainstTotal xGxG Difference
Premier LeagueAston VillaHome3142.71.44.1+1.3
Premier LeagueLeicester CityAway2020.91.22.1-0.3
Premier LeagueWatfordHome1011.80.62.4+1.2
Premier LeagueLiverpoolAway0440.44.34.7-3.9
Premier LeagueNewcastleHome2022.00.22.2+1.8
Total / Average Per Game8 / 1.65 / 113 / 2.67.8 / 1.567.7 / 1.5415.5 / 3.1+0.1 / +0.02

Stats taken from FBREF

Premier League Betting: Manchester United vs Arsenal Betting Preview

Out: Granit Xhaka (Knee), Sead Kolasinac (Ankle)
Doubtful: Bukayo Saka (Groin)
Suspended: None
Coach: Mikel Arteta

If you’re an Arsenal fan, I think there’s a lot to be excited for. Arteta’s starting eleven is starting to gel, and Takehiro Tomiyasu, Aaron Ramsdale, Ben White, and Albert Sambi Lokonga are all looking like quality transfers. I’m interested in seeing how this team develops and if they’re good enough to break into the Top 4.

We’ll see two changes from the side that beat Newcastle 2-0 at the weekend. Bukayo Saka came off on 64 minutes with a groin injury, and with so many games across the festive period, I don’t think Arteta will take the risk. Gabriel Martinelli is favorite to take his place after replacing him on Saturday and scoring moments later to wrap up the three points.

Kieran Tierney will come in for Nuno Tavares at left-back, and it will be interesting to see how he handles Sancho. Martin Ødegaard played well on Saturday and will keep his place ahead of Alexander Lacazette.

MANCHESTER UNITED VS ARSENAL PREMIER LEAGUE BETTING TIPS

I wrote above that I don’t know who Rangnick will pick to start, but I’m confident he will instruct them to play on the front foot and take the game to their opponents. With Pierre-Emerick Aubamayang‘s and Martinelli’s pace combined with Emile Smith Rowe and Ødegaard’s playmaking abilities, I think Arsenal will cause United problems on the counter.

My recommendation is to back goals in this game from both sides.

PREMIER LEAGUE BETTING TIPS: Parlay Both Teams To Score YES and Over 2.5 Goals -105

WHERE TO BET PREMIER LEAGUE IN THE US

In the US, you can legally bet on soccer in more than two dozen states. You can bet online in some states, but only in-person betting is allowed in most of them.

DraftKings Sportsbook is available in Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

FanDuel Sportsbook is available in Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Alex Blowers Avatar
Written by
Alex Blowers

Betting advice for the Premier League, Bundesliga & UEFA Champions League! Alex also contributes to NBC Sports Edge and TheLines. You can follow him on Twitter @AlexJBlowers

View all posts by Alex Blowers
Privacy Policy